Quotes and Reviews

 What people are saying…


 summerhill2In a February 2004 radio survey,
Shine On Through
was listed at #16 out of 70 CD’s
on the Folk DJ list.


“2000 SALT LAKE ACOUSTIC MUSIC AWARD WINNER — Voted Best Folk/Acoustic Artist.” 

– Salt Lake City Weekly Reader’s Poll, August 2000

…about “Shine On Through”:


“ANKE SUMMERHILL, “Shine on Through”: Grade A
On “Shine on Through,” Anke Summerhill’s second album, the elegant Utah singer and songwriter continues her maturation as a recording artist. Summerhill surrounds herself with many of Salt Lake City’s finest musicians, including Kate MacLeod, who also took the vital role of producer. The arrangements — and Summerhill’s voice — are stunning without overpowering the simple beauty of her lyrics. “Windowsills” and “If a Day Was an Island” are standouts on an album full of standouts.” 

– Reviewer: Martin Renzhoffer, Salt Lake Tribune, March 25, 2003


“Anke Summerhill’s new release, shine on through, is replete with richness, insight, warmth and a tribute to our fragile but triumphant spirit. The music is as soothing as basking on a sun-warmed boulder while the iridescent mist of a waterfall settles over us. We don’t feel inundated by its power, simply blessed. Richly expressed in its wistful quality are a longing, compassion and exploration of relationships. Composed primarily of love songs, with a hearty dose of self-introspection, the work includes a worthy nod to a diversity of styles. Also present, though not as prominently as in her previous CD, The Roots Run Deep, is the sensuous engagement with landscape as comfort, as a bridge or sacred ground where we coincide despite our differences. Anke has brought back several musicians from Roots, with some added to boot. Most notably is the piano virtuosity of local [ Utah ]performing artist Steve Keen, on piano and accordion. His lilting artistry on “If a Day Was An Island,” takes me back to the early 70’s when Steve graciously swapped piano lessons for macrobiotic cooking sessions. The album’s first cut features John Mock’s penny whistle, which functions not so much an instrument of the British Isles but for its plaintive “Wild Bird’s” voice. The rich percussion of earlier works is replaced by drum work of John Gardner, the house drummer for the Grand Ole Opry. Harmonies of voices familiar to local acoustophiles (did I make that up?) recorded here then engineered in Nashville, are so well mixed, the voices merge, often almost indistinguishably–not unlike the intimacy between two people that the songs seem to yearn for. Matt Flinner’s banjo & mandolin move jauntily, sometimes evocatively behind many of the melodies, especially emphasizing the playfulness behind the “New Year’s Resolution.” Here a certain poignancy sometimes suggested in the songs is replaced by a bold declaration: “I don’t want to hear about it. Go and tell somebody else.” The work resounds with smiles of an artist enjoying herself, the musicians, even the listeners. Still, compassion and depth reign throughout the songs. Whether expressed in a bluesy way in the title cut or with a jazzy, saxophone-infused questioning in the mysterious “Big House,” or while “waiting for wisdom and grace… to scatter the darkness,” Anke’s lovely talent clearly shines through.” 
– Lin Ostler, Catalyst Magazine


” Consistently expansive and deeply compassionate, Anke’s new CD “Shine on Through” has coaxed the most timid parts of my soul out into the sunlight. This is music I trust.” 
– The After Dinner Story

…about “The Roots Run Deep”:


“”It’s Anke Summerhill’s beautiful voice that is the unifying theme on her debut recording. It’s the perfect complement to her deeply personal and descriptive songs. Producer Kate MacLeod uses just the right subltle touches ( fiddle, mandolin, bass, and percussion ) needed to accentuate Summerhill’s songs. Quiet and reflective, but with an inner magic, Summerhill’s songwriting has a maturity not usually found in a new artist.”

– Dirty Linen Magazine – Issue #88 June/July 2000


“Living in Salt Lake City, so close to the Rockies and all the beauty of the West, it’s no surprise that so much of Anke Summerhill’s music touches on elements of nature. A quick glance at song titles will prove the point. “Stillness Of The Night,” “Raven,” “Walnut Tree,” “Stars At Noon,” “Rainbow Blues,” “Harvest Moon”… you get the point. Of course there’s a big difference between writing a shopping list of Mother Nature’s finest and incorporating them into songs that speak on a universal level. Fortunately Summerhill does the latter. She tackles the frailties and foibles of human nature just as well. “Broken Glass” reflects the jagged edges “between the light and darkness… the bitter and the sweet” caused by a lack of communication. “Only A Paycheque” is the tale of those who are one payday away from living on the street. Summerhill’s plaintive alto is carried well on the sparse, acoustic arrangements. Mandolin, cello, and fiddle flourishes abound. Like the wilderness she seems to love so much, this is an album which reveals something new each time you listen.” 

– Top DYI 12 Picks for Do-it-yourself Songwriters November/December 1999 issue of Performing Songwriter Magazine — Review by Neil Fagan


“”As specific as she can get with her descriptive lyrics, there is a special connection that makes the listener feel as though they’ve lived right next door to Anke all their life. The emotional bond is established with the audience from the very first note. It’s personal yet universal. You may cry, you may find yourself becoming philosophical… but you will feel something totally unique from any other album you’ve ever heard.” 

– Independent Songwriter Web-Magazine


“From Germany to Canada to Salt Lake City to Kerrville and back, singer/guitarist Summerhill’s visually rich lyrics and plaintive music put the Roots Run Deep near the top of my must-have music list – local or otherwise.” 

– Bill Frost, Salt Lake City Weekly


“In my best of 1998 releases.” 

– Jeff Emery, “Backroads” KZSC FM, Santa Cruz, CA


“Nominated for Best Female Vocalist.” 

– Wasatch Area Music Awards Best of 1998


“Best Local Female Album 1998.” 

– Doug Young, aka The Iceman, “Monday Morning Breakfast Jam” & Music Director of KRCL 91 FM,
Salt Lake City, UT


“In my top 20 album picks of 1998.” 

– Susanne M., “Thursday Morning Breakfast Jam”
KRCL 91 FM, Salt Lake City, UT


“Her first album equals most singer-songwriters’ third or fourth efforts and is a certainty to make many top ten lists.” 

– Andy Nettell, Kokopelli Productions & Kokopelli Coffeehouse, 89.7 FM Moab, Utah.


“Anke’s song “From Up Here” is one of the most beautiful songs I have heard in a long time. It’s the kind of song that you press repeat on the CD player – except you don’t have to: it will keep playing in your head.” 

– Cosy Sheridan


“Anke’s warm, distinctive voice blends seamlessly with her natural guitar style. Her writing is rich with vision and life, and there is always an undercurrent of added meaning within her words.”

– Larry Pattis